Hemp - Cannabidiol

Hotspot: Hemp Seeds and THC

New EU regulation setting maximum levels for delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9 -THC) in hemp seeds and products.

On August 12, 2022, Regulation (EU) 2022/1393 was published regarding maximum levels of delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC) in hemp seeds and products derived from them. It complements Regulation (EC) No. 1881/2006, which sets maximum levels for certain contaminants in food.

The European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) adopted a reference dose (ARfD) of 1 μg Δ9-THC/kg body weight (bw) in 2015, following Recommendation (EU) 2016/2115. On January 7, 2020, EFSA published a scientific report on the assessment of acute human exposure to Δ9-THC, which took into account the data generated by Recommendation (EU) 2016/2115 that the ARfD of 1 μg/kg body weight was exceeded for certain exposure estimates. Although the exposure estimates are likely to overestimate the acute exposure to Δ9 -THC in the Union, the current exposure is considered potentially hazardous to health. Therefore, new maximum levels should be established for hemp seed and products derived from hemp seed to ensure an increased level of health protection. Since delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (Δ9-THCA) can be converted into Δ9-THC through processing, maximum levels should be set for the sum of Δ9-THC and Δ9-THCA expressed in Δ9-THC equivalents. This regulation will enter into force on September 1, 2022, and will apply from January 1, 2023. Foods listed in the Annex that were lawfully placed on the market before January 1, 2023, may remain on the market until their best-before or expiration dates.

Our lab can help you learn more about the levels of THC and other cannabinoids in hemp seeds, hemp seed oil, and food.

Latest Institute news

New maximum levels for ethylene oxide in food additives

REGULATORY UPDATE on ethylene oxide, an important chemical with multiple uses.

Read more
BRCGS, Foodsaftey Issue 9

CHANGES TO THE BRCGS FOOD SAFETY ISSUE 9

ON 1 AUGUST 2022, THE BRCGS ISSUED THE BRCGS FOOD SAFETY ISSUE 9.

Read more

Hotspot: Analysis of Mineral Oil

New recommended actions for aromatic mineral oil hydrocarbons (MOAH) published

Without any further transitional period, the European Commission has published an EU-wide harmonised recommended action for the detection of aromatic mineral oil hydrocarbons (MOAH) in food, including newly defined maximum levels in terms of limits of quantification (LOQ).
Although these are currently only guideline values, the member states have nevertheless agreed to withdraw products from the market that reach or exceed these limits during government controls.

Read more.

Hotspot: Pesticide residues in food, EFSA monitoring recommendation

EFSA recommends that national authorities consider the following groups of pesticides/samples when planning their monitoring programmes:

  • Ethylene oxide (RD) in sesame seeds, peppercorns and buckwheat,
  • Chlorates (RD) in leafy crops (lettuce, lamb's lettuce/corn salad), tomatoes and legumes.
  • Chlordecone (RD) in cassava roots and chicken eggs,
  • Chlorpyrifos (RD) in peppers, grape leaves, dried beans, pomegranates, potatoes and teas,
  • anthraquinone (RD) in tea

Read more [...]
Institut Kirchhoff Berlin offers food manufacturers a wide range of services (including testing) for the quantification of pesticide residues, guaranteeing compliance with regulations and quality standards. Our laboratories are accredited according to ISO17025.
Contact our customer and project management.

From sampling to expert report - everything from a single source

We are your contact for all questions concerning product quality, product development and product safety.  Our highly qualified, interdisciplinary team supports you in a solution-oriented and flexible manner with expertise and personal advice. 

KNOWING WHAT'S INSIDE ... Knowledge about product composition is the basis for quality assurance and risk assessment. As an independent accredited service company with a highly qualified team of over 170 employees, we carry out chemical-physical, molecular biological, microbiological, microscopic and sensory analyses of various matrices. These include food, feed, water,consumer goods, cosmetics and pharmaceutical products. As an accredited institute with a high degree of automation and state-of-the-art equipment, we offer qualified analysis and competent evaluation and assessment of the results.

An overview of the laboratory analyses and services offered can be found in our service directory for download.

Social projects

The Institut Kirchhoff GmbH is involved in numerous social projects such as KINDERHILFE – Hilfe für krebs –und schwerkranke Kinder e.V., and SOS Kinderdorf (Children’s Village) Berlin. Institut Kirchhoff Berlin GmbH has made regular donations of food over the years to Berliner Tafel to take a  stand against poverty and food waste.

Read more

To top

Hanf - Cannabidiol

Brennpunkt: Hanfsamen und THC

Neue EU-Verordnung zur Festlegung von Höchstgehalten an Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9 -THC) in Hanfsamen und -produkten

Am 12. August 2022 wurde die Verordnung (EU) 2022/1393 hinsichtlich der Höchstgehalte an Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC) in Hanfsamen und daraus hergestellten Erzeugnissen veröffentlicht. Sie ergänzt die Verordnung (EG) Nr. 1881/2006, welche Höchstgehalte für bestimmte Kontaminanten in Lebensmitteln festlegt.

Die Europäische Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) legte im Jahr 2015 eine Referenzdosis (ARfD) von 1 μg Δ9-THC/kg Körpergewicht (KG) in Anlehnung an die Empfehlung (EU) 2016/2115 angenommen. Am 7. Januar 2020 veröffentlichte die EFSA einen wissenschaftlichen Bericht zur Bewertung der akuten Exposition des Menschen gegenüber Δ9-THC, in dem die durch die Empfehlung (EU) 2016/2115 gewonnenen Daten berücksichtigt wurden, wonach die ARfD von 1 μg/kg Körpergewicht bei bestimmten Expositionsschätzungen überschritten wurde. Obwohl die Expositionsschätzungen die akute Exposition gegenüber Δ9 -THC in der Union überbewerten dürfte, gilt die derzeitige Exposition als potenziell gesundheitsgefährdend. Daher sollten für Hanfsamen und aus Hanfsamen gewonnene Erzeugnisse neue Höchstgehalte festgelegt werden, um ein erhöhtes Maß an Gesundheitsschutz zu gewährleisten. Da Delta-9-Tetrahydrocannabinolsäure (Δ9-THCA) durch die Verarbeitung in Δ9-THC umgewandelt werden kann, sollten die Höchstgehalte für die Summe von Δ9-THC und Δ9-THCA, ausgedrückt in Δ9-THC-Äquivalenten, festgelegt werden. Diese Verordnung tritt am 1. September 2022 in Kraft und gilt ab dem 1. Januar 2023. Im Anhang aufgeführte Lebensmittel, die vor dem 1. Januar 2023 rechtmäßig in Verkehr gebracht wurden, dürfen bis zu ihrem Mindesthaltbarkeits- oder Verfallsdatum auf dem Markt bleiben.

Unser Labor kann Sie dabei unterstützen, mehr über den Gehalt an THC und anderen Cannabinoiden in Hanfsamen, Hanfsamenöl und Lebensmitteln zu erfahren. 

Institut Aktuell

Neue Höchstwerte für Ethylenoxid in Lebensmittelzusatzstoffen

UPDATE zu Ethylenoxid, einem wichtigen chemischen Stoff mit vielfältigen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten.

Weiterlesen
BRCGS, Foodsaftey Issue 9

BRCGS Food Safety Issue 9

AM 1. AUGUST 2022 HABEN DAS BRCGS DAS BRCGS FOOD SAFETY ISSUE 9 ZUR LEBENSMITTELSICHERHEIT HERAUSGEGEBEN.

Weiterlesen

Brennpunkt: MINERALÖLANALYTIK

Neue Handlungsempfehlung der EU für aromatische Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffe (MOAH)

Ohne weitere Übergangsfrist hat die Europäische Kommission eine EU-weit harmonisierte Handlungsempfehlung für den Nachweis von aromatischen Mineralölkohlenwasserstoffen (MOAH) in Lebensmitteln inklusive neu festgelegter Höchstwerte im Sinne von Bestimmungsgrenzen (LOQ, Limit of Quantification) veröffentlicht.
Obwohl es sich dabei derzeit nur um Richtwerte handelt, haben sich die Mitgliedstaaten dennoch darauf geeinigt, Produkte, die diese Grenzwerte bei staatlichen Kontrollen erreichen oder überschreiten, vom Markt zu nehmen.
Lesen Sie mehr.

Brennpunkt: Pestizidrückstände in Lebensmitteln, Monitoringempfehlung der EFSA

Die EFSA empfiehlt den nationalen Behörden, bei der Planung ihrer Überwachungsprogramme die folgenden Gruppen von Pestiziden/Proben zu berücksichtigen:

  • Ethylenoxid (RD) in Sesamsamen, Pfefferkörnern und Buchweizen,
  • Chlorate (RD) in Blattfrüchten (Kopfsalat, Feldsalat/Maissalat), Tomaten und Hülsenbohnen
  • Chlordecon (RD) in Maniokwurzeln und Hühnereiern,
  • Chlorpyrifos (RD) in Paprika, Traubenblättern, getrockneten Bohnen, Granatäpfeln, Kartoffeln und Tees,
  • Anthrachinon (RD) in Tee

Lesen Sie mehr [...]

Das Institut Kirchhoff Berlin bietet Lebensmittelherstellern eine breite Palette von Dienstleistungen (einschließlich Tests) für die Quantifizierung von Pestizidrückständen an und garantiert so die Einhaltung von Vorschriften und Qualitätsstandards. Unsere Labors sind nach ISO17025 akkreditiert.
Kontaktieren Sie unser Kunden- und Projektmanagement.

Von der Probenahme bis zum Gutachten - alles aus einer Hand

Wir sind Ihr Ansprechpartner für alle Fragen der Produktqualität, Produktentwicklung und Produktsicherheit. Unser hochqualifiziertes, interdisziplinäres Team unterstützt Sie lösungsorientiert und flexibel mit Fachkompetenz und persönlicher Beratung. 

WISSEN WAS DRIN IST ... Kenntnis über die Produktzusammensetzung ist die Basis für Qualitätssicherung und Risikobewertung. Als unabhängiges akkreditiertes Dienstleistungsunternehmen mit einem hochqualifizierten Team von über 170 Mitarbeitern führen wir chemische-physikalische, molekularbiologische, mikrobiologische, mikroskopische und sensorische Untersuchungen unterschiedlicher Matrizes durch. Dazu zählen Lebensmittel, Futtermittel, Wasser, Bedarfsgegenstände, Kosmetika und pharmazeutischen Produkte. Als akkreditiertes Institut mit hohem Automatisierungsgrad und einer hochmodernen apparativen Ausstattung bieten wir Ihnen eine qualifizierte Analytik und eine kompetente Bewertung und Beurteilung der Ergebnisse an.

Eine Übersicht über die angebotenen Laboranalysen und Dienstleistungen finden Sie in unserem Leistungsverzeichnis zum Download.

Soziale Projekte

Die Institut Kirchhoff Berlin GmbH engagiert sich in zahlreichen sozialen Projekten, etwa die KINDERHILFE – Hilfe für krebs –und schwerkranke Kinder e.V. und das SOS Kinderdorf Berlin. Der Berliner Tafel stellt die Institut Kirchhoff Berlin GmbH seit vielen Jahren regelmäßig Lebensmittel bereit und setzt so ein Zeichen gegen Armut und Lebensmittelverschwendung.

Weiterlesen

Nach oben